Nerd Mode, Engage!

My name is Kalia (my middle name is Zizi) call me either or I love them both!

I am here to explore the intersection of art and technology.

 I see the Arduino as a revolutionary platform for this exploration.  I will use this blog to compile my most coolest research (and silly grammar) including information about ‘micro-controllers’ and their applications.

I will post my experiences with, ‘tinkering’ that is experimenting with prototyping Arduino electronics (namely LEDs, sensors and motors) and developing the subsequent code needed to control said hardware.  I hope to break it down into terms I understand (note I primarily an art and communications background) and you understand!  This may include some cool little DIY activities with an “Instructables” feel.  The best way to learn something is to teach it, and I also believe in sharing knowledge and making it easy to understand, so win-win-win situation coming right up!

The third component of my blog is a section dedicated to the development of my ‘BIG’ project- an ‘interactive robotic sculpture.’  This will be a physical sculpture built with my own two hands embedded with an Arduino that functions with some of the cool things I learned while tinkering.  An example of what I am imagining is a geometric structure, with sensors and lights inside. When a human comes close to it or makes noise  the lights change color and pieces of the sculpture start moving!

And last but not least I don’t want to do this alone and keep this to myself.  I believe deeply in the importance of dialogue and collaboration.  So please participate with me, comment, share, take my ideas and expand them, learn from me and most importantly teach me!

Leave a Reply

